What does IPL stand for?

Indian Premier League was established in 2008 as a T20 cricket tournament

In cricket, IPL is the Indian Premier League https://bettingcricket.in/ipl/, which was established in 2008 as a T20 cricket tournament. Every year the tournament is held from mid-April to mid-June and will include up to ten teams from 2022.

IPL Tournament – Indian Premier League

It is one of the biggest domestic cricket tournaments in the world, but what is it and how does it work?

Structure of the tournamentStructure of the IPL tournament

Every franchise will play each other twice – at home and away – in the Indian Premier League’s round-robin tournament. Wins will award two points to each side, whereas abandons will award one point each to each team.

The top four teams in this table advance to the playoffs at the end of this stage, while the remaining teams are eliminated. There is a first qualifier in which the top two teams in the table face-off, with the winner proceeding directly to the final.

There will then be an eliminator between the third and fourth-placed teams. Winners go on to the second round, while losers get eliminated.

During the second qualifying round, the winner of the eliminator will face the loser of round one. If that game concludes in a win, the winner qualifies for the final.

When does the IPL begin?When does the IPL 2022 begin

In general, the IPL is scheduled to begin in April, though it varies from year to year. The competition starts with the group stages and continues through May.

It is generally expected that the knockouts will take place in late May or early June, and the final will also be then. The dates may change, but these are the initial dates for the tournament, which has been running for many years.

Franchise teams for the IPLFranchise teams for the IPL

There will be ten franchise teams in the IPL starting in 2022. In 2021, the following teams will participate:

Additionally, two new teams will join to make a total of ten teams. Until November 2021, the teams’ names have not been confirmed. Lucknow and Ahmedabad will host the games.

Dafabet Sports is the world’s best online betting site, with amazing sports gambling markets, casino games, and poker options. Sign up now to experience the excitement of top-level gaming!

Bidding for players

Every tournament begins with an auction of players. The franchises will bid for the services of those cricketers who wish to be part of the IPL. A base price is effectively a reserve price set by the players involved. It is the minimum offer that must be made by any team seeking to sign the player.

If a player becomes injured or withdraws for any other reason, there are options to replace the player. Franchises submit retained lists prior to the start of the auction.

Rules of the IPLRules of the IPL

T20 cricket rules govern the format of the IPL. The teams each have an allotted capacity of 20 overs, with the goal of scoring more runs than their opponents. The side batting first sets the target in T20 cricket as it does in ODI cricket.

In turn, the fielding side takes the batting turn and must surpass that total in the allocated overs. The side batting first wins if the second-innings side does not reach the target.

Regardless of the number of bowlers, the team can only bowl four overs per bowler. The game will go to a Super Over if the scores are tied at the end. Each team will be given a six-ball over, with batting teams having two wickets each. After the Super Over is completed, a winner will be selected.